Thursday, November 19, 2009

Thierry Henry's hand causes a big polemy in Europe

Barcelona's striker Thierry Henry used his hand to stop the ball and pass it to Gallas, in the move previous to the French goal against Ireland on Wednesday. With the 1-1 tie, France classified for the 2010 World Cup and crushed all Irish illusions.

Thierry admitted to the press that he touched the ball with the hand almost, but it was not on purpose. What's more, he claims that "he is not the referee" to judge the goal as invalid.

The Irish Federation has sent an official document to UEFA complaining about the incident and the elimination of their national team. Now this has become the most polemic match in the whole European qualifiers.

1 comment:

gallas said...

leave thierry alone, nobody stops playing when the ball accidentaly hits your hand, you keep playing until the referee stops it.